What's the Call
Have you ever had a dispute with a fellow player over a call on the court that you couldn’t settle? Or have you ever wondered why a certain ruling was made during a match you were watching? Maybe you’re just curious about how some scenarios, from the common to the ridiculous, are resolved.
- Have you ever chosen a side during the coin toss and then have your opponent ask you to switch during warm-ups?
- Can a player return a serve before the ball bounces?
- Have you ever played a doubles team where both opponents stand in the receiving position behind the baseline?
- Have you ever been bothered by gnats and other bugs during the middle of a point? Can you call a let?
- Has your partner ever stopped a point after your serve is in play because he or she believes you announced the score wrong?
- Have you ever played a doubles team that attempts to switch sides on the return during a set?
- Has your opponent ever missed the ball on his or her first serve attempt?
- Has your opponent ever played a serve you thought was out?
- Are you entitled to a first serve if your opponent walks off court to retrieve an errant ball?
- Can you call a let from an off-court noise?
- Who do you to serve on the deciding point in a no-ad mixed doubles match?
- Can you cross the net to question a call?
- Can you call a let if a ball strikes another ball on the court during a point?
- Can one team serve out an entire doubles match?
- Are you allowed to pretend to hit a shot during a point?
- What happens if a ball that's going out hits your opponent's shoe?
- Is it permissible to take a sip of water in between each point of a match?
- Are doubles teams allowed to communicate with each other throughout the point?
- Do you have to move a ball that's on your side of the court?
- Do you lose the point if the ball touches your body?